Are we there yet?

It’s 11:53 eastern time.
I decided to come onto the blog a little later than usual because I figured that it would be all over but the shouting by the time I started writing. I figured that I’d be able to just do a straight “who won/who lost/what does this mean” piece on the ole Mad (political) Scientist blog.
But I should have known it wouldn’t be that easy.
You see, and this is something that you should keep under your hat for November, I have relatives in Ohio and Indiana. They’re the relatives who’s elevators haven’t seen the top floor in a minute. They’re the ones that come to the family reunion and almost set the house on fire during the cookout. They’re the ones that go to Atlantic City and lose the money they’re supposed to use to get home.
In other words, they’re the biggest black sheep in a family filled with them.
Because of this, I also should have known that there would be a glitch with the Indiana primary. As I write this, a big chunk of Indiana’s vote, a chunk that probably includes several of my relatives, hasn’t been counted yet.
This chunk includes several predominately black cities like Gary, which before this was most famous for being the place where Michael Jackson lived as a good looking black boy before moving to Los Angeles and becoming a rather grotesque looking white woman.
(Sorry! Couldn’t resist!)
What looked like a pretty comfortable victory for Sen. Hillary Clinton in Indiana has turned into a nail biter. (See what happens when you do your acceptance speech before all of the votes are counted?)
In fact, CBS was the lone network that called it a Clinton victory. No doubt, they’ll blame this on Katie Couric somehow.
As for North Carolina, Sen. Barack Obama won it by 14 points. Some folks thought that Clinton had a shot at the upset here, but they were probably the same folks that thought that Obama had a shot at the upset in Pennsylvania.
What these folks didn’t realize is that when you’re up by 20 or more points in a state, you’re supposed to win that state. Although Clinton only won Pennsylvania by 9 percent, she was up by 20 percent with six weeks until the primary. Obama won by 14 percent in North Carolina, but he was up by 30 at one point.
If either the Pennsylvania or North Carolina primary was won by anyone other than the person who did win it, both of these folks would have to seriously consider conceding the Presidential race to Sen. John McCain. The only group of people that I know of who have lost a lead that big and have managed to come back for more is the New York Mets.
(And the only reason they’re back is because it’s a whole new baseball season. They’re still in the same place, behind my Philadelphia Phillies, but it’s still early.)
But what’s really cracking me up is to listen to MSNBC’s talking heads pontificate about whether or not these election returns will make Clinton finally drop out of the race.
The fact that they’re even asking that tells me that these folks haven’t been listening. Clinton is going nowhere until she’s looking at math she can’t make fuzzy. Obama may be less than 200 delegates away from the nomination, and may be surging further ahead in the popular vote, but if you think Clinton’s dropping out after tonight, I have to ask you what part of “I’m going to keep fighting” is giving you syntax problems.
Besides, she’s got her finger in the ring of the pin attached to the Superdelegate grenade. Clinton is just waiting for the right moment to pull it. But mark my words, unless someone sits her down and keeps it so real for her that she can’t deny it, she’ll have pulled that sucker before August.
Which is why I hope that my name is on the credentials list for the Democratic National Convention when it happens in August. I love hearing the strains of a strained chorus of Kumbaya.
If Indiana goes final before I go to sleep, I’ll be back.

Leave a Reply

