Why I’m not talkin’ bout Rev. Wright

I’m looking at the blog, and I can see that the last post that I made here was about the Rev. Jeremiah Wright’s interview on Bill Moyers’ Journal.
Since then, the Rev. Wright’s made a speech to the Detroit NAACP, lost his mind at the National Press Club, and has finally made Sen. Barack Obama mad enough to throw him under the bus.
I was all set to do what everyone else in the media has done, namely share my impressions of the whole Wright imbroglio and what it means to the Obama campaign with you.
But a funny happened on the way to that post.
I went to the grocery store.
After paying my rent, student loans, and other bills, I had a grand total of $27 left in my bank account.
(I’m a writer. You know that we don’t make shit, right?)
With that money, I went to the PathMark grocery store on Oregon Avenue here in Philly in hopes of finding something to cook for dinner for the next few days.
Once upon a time, chicken was your go-to protein when you were low on funds. So, I went in search of chicken parts to fry and combine with some other stuff I bought the last time I had money, macaroni, cheese and frozen broccoli, to make a meal.
Did you know that chicken wings are going for $11 a pack now? I didn’t either. I nearly passed out from the shock.
And don’t even get me started on milk! You may as well buy a gallon of gas ’cause it’ll cost you the same.
In fact, gas prices and their impact on just about everything these days is the reason why you’ll soon have to take out a bank loan (if you can get one that is) to put food on your table.
So, I got to thinkin’…..
Part of the reason that I decided to add graduate school to the other stuff that I do is because I want to become a journalism professor and be a part of the solution to bad political reporting, not part of the problem.
That trip to the grocery store showed me that if I jump on the Rev. Wright analysis bandwagon, I become part of the problem. I become part of the mindset that makes the panel I’m going to be on at the Unity 2008 journalists’ convention that talks about wedge issues in the presidential elections like “God, Guns and Gays” necessary.
I become part of the crew that’s practicing the kind of “ooh, shiny” journalism that keeps us diverted long enough to keep us from tackling the stuff that really matters.
So instead, I decided to ask this question: What’s it going to take for us as Americans to stop focusing on the wrong shit when it comes to picking a president?
Will it take looking homelessness in the face? How about having to pay $100 for a tank of gas? Will another 4,000 dead soldiers in Iraq wake us up? Or will it it be the sight of Americans robbing each other in order to get the money to fucking eat?
It’s as if we learned nothing four years ago. You remember four years ago, don’t you? That’s when folks in depressed areas cast their votes for George W. Bush because he was against gay people getting married.
The economy was going to hell in a bucket. Poor kids with nothing but the Army as an option were getting blown up, blown away, and blown off by their government in the War In Iraq. Jobs were being shipped to places that don’t believe in paying people a living wage for their labor and oil companies were making obscene profits.
But at least we kept Steve and Michael from getting married by keeping Bush and Company in office. Yay us!
Spare me!
The sad thing is, we’re heading right down that road again. Between Sens. Hillary Clinton and John McCain, I don’t know whose made Rev. Wright more of an issue. Of course, we don’t talk about how McCain’s seeking an endorsement from a minister who called the Catholic Church “the great whore” or the fact that Clinton and Rick “man on dog love” Santorum share a pastor, but that’s okay.
I don’t really want to.
I want to talk about how jacked up the economy is and what we’re going to do about it. I want to talk about how much money we’re spending on the War in Iraq and how we’re going to extricate ourselves from this quagmire so that we can help those here in this country who need it. I want to talk about the fact that we need a health care plan in this country that can actually work instead of one that just sounds good. I want to talk about how we’re in the pocket of the ethanol lobby and how that’s impacting the price of food. I want to talk about what our government is going to do to make oil companies accountable for their price gouging ways.
In other words, I want to talk about shit that matters. I want to know what you’re going to do about the shit that impacts my life.
Now I’m not going to make any kind of an endorsement because it’s not my job to do that.
But I’m going to point something out to you and you can do with this information what you’d like.
There are two true millionaires running for president in Sens. Clinton (who went to Wellesley and Yale by the way) and McCain (who’s wife’s beer money has kept him in good stead) and neither of these folks have addressed any of these issues unless you count the whole gas tax holiday (which will just be passed on to us in the form of increased prices) thing.
What’s been cracking me up is that they’re both calling Sen. Obama, a guy who just recently paid his and his wife’s student loans with the profits from his books, an elitist. He’s also the only one who’s been trying to talk about the issues that actually make sense to talk about.
Too bad that he hasn’t been able to because he’s been so busy explaining what his pastor said.
We need to keep our eyes on the prize, America, or we’re going to remain in the same fucked up place we’re in right now.
Don’t know about you, but I would hope you’d want better.
Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go to sleep now. I have to come up with new ways to make the $4 pound of hamburger that I managed to grab on Saturday stretch until I can get a few more bucks. Hopefully, I won’t have to rob anybody.

7 comments

  1. Here’s my blog that I posted last week on the very same issue. I’d like to know what you think. Cut and post link below to read the whole thing. Thanks–Fellow NABJer http://blog.360.yahoo.com/blog-xXCEWIc9cq2h3ZNM21mcly118iFILtw-?cq=1This mass media world that we live in gave us sliced and diced, cut-and-pasted pieces of Jeremiah Wright. This isn’t a put-down on the electronic media, because it happened in both print AND television. Where our jobs came in as journalists was to put Jeremiah Wright in the appropriate context. But many journalists didn’t do that, and that’s where the disservice comes in. When Wright said “God damn America,” it didn’t come from some “old-school” mentality or wrongs from years past, yet this is what we reported. Wright’s sermons came from a minister who sees black men warehoused in prisons every day. It came from seeing a black daughter tortured by whites in West Virginia and/or a black man dragged to his death in Texas. Wright’s “bitter” speech came from watching as a U.S. Supreme Court rolls back civil rights gains, including now forcing people to pay for voter identification that costs more than the poll tax did.

  2. hey, here is the site i was talking about where i made the extra cash, I was making about $900 extra a month…< HREF="http://www.alwaysfreestuff2.info" REL="nofollow">check it out<> ..

  3. hey, here is the site i was talking about where i made the extra cash, I was making about $900 extra a month…< HREF="http://www.alwaysfreestuff2.info" REL="nofollow">check it out<> ..

  4. Hey lady. I passed on some blog love < HREF="http://ohyouprettythings.net/blog/2008/05/07/eeeeee/" REL="nofollow">here. <>Thanks for sending me the link, BTW. this post was excellent.

  5. Hey madpolitico, it’s your old pal Leroy. Came over from Richard Prince’s column.Loved the post. You’re right, $100 a tank gas is the kind of stuff we should be talking about, not the Rev. Wright. My God, politics can get so ridiculous it’s a shame.But the media believe that talking about issues and policy is boring, hence that ABC Gibson-Stephanopoulos travesy of a debate a couple weeks back.I have a blog, but haven’t updated it in a while. Have a look anyway when u get the chance.See ya,Leroy

Leave a Reply

